Honorary Diploma Award

What is the Honorary Diploma Award?

The Honorary Diploma in Health Sciences award is intended to enhance the profile of the institution by recognizing individuals who have made an outstanding contribution in health care and/or post-secondary education. The Honorary Diploma Committee of the Board of Governors invites The Michener Institute community to submit nominations. Participation in this very important process is encouraged.

What is the deadline to submit nominations?

Nominations will be accepted until October 15, 2021. The final decision will be made by the Board of Governors based on the recommendations of the committee.

Who can be awarded an Honorary Diploma?

Nominees must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Accomplished in the field of applied health care (broad definition) and/or post-secondary education nationally or internationally.
  • Accomplished in a professional discipline that aligns with the Michener Institute’s educational programs.
  • Accomplished in a community of professional practice that aligns with the Michener Institute’s educational programs.

Current faculty, staff, students, Board members, and currently serving politicians are not eligible and will, therefore, not be considered for candidacy. To be eligible, such individuals must have been away from active service or membership in the aforementioned groups for a period of one year or longer.

How are Honorary Diploma recipients selected?

Two candidates will be selected from the nominees, a first choice and alternate in the event that the first choice candidate declines the invitation.

All deliberations and decisions shall be confidential. The Board of Governors is responsible for making the final decision.

How many Honorary Diploma awards are granted?

Normally, only one honorary diploma will be conferred every other academic year.

When are Honourees informed that they have been selected for the award?

Honourees are informed by the Chair of the Honorary Diploma committee following the Board’s approval approximately 3 months in advance of the target convocation. The Honouree will be requested to work in consultation with the nominator or the committee to prepare a brief profile to be read at graduation, as well as provide a photo to be used in promotional materials and for a permanent plaque that is displayed at Michener.

What is the role of the Honorary Diploma recipient?

Honourees will be asked to deliver the convocation address at the graduation ceremony. A reception in honour of the recipient will be held usually during the week before convocation.

What happens to the nominations for those who are not selected for an Honorary Diploma?

Nominations not selected for the target convocation will be saved for two years and may form a pool of nominees for the subsequent convocation.

Past Honorary Diploma Recipients

  • 2019 André Picard, National Health Columnist, The Globe & Mail
  • 2017 Dr. Winston Isaac, Michener Alumnus of Distinction, founder of the Walnut Foundation, healthcare educator and innovator
  • 2014 Dr. Samir Sinha, Provincial Lead, Ontario Seniors Strategy, Director of Geriatric Medicine, Mt Sinai and University Health Network Hospitals
  • 2012 Neena Kanwar, co-founder, President and CEO of KMH Cardiology and Diagnostic Centres
  • 2011 Dr. Vivek Goel, President and CEO of Public Health Ontario (formerly the Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion)
  • 2010 Dr. Marlene Scardamalia, Presidents’ Chair in Education and Knowledge Technologies at OISE/University of Toronto and founding director of the Institute for Knowledge Innovation and Technology
  • 2009 Dr. C. Joseph Kurian, President of Alpha Laboratories
  • 2008 Dr. Donald T. Stuss, Vice-President Research and Academic Education and Director of the Rotman Research Institute, and Mrs. Sonja Bata, Founder of the Bata Shoe Museum and renowned philanthropist
  • 2007 Dr. Amitai Ziv, Founder and Director of the Israel Centre for Medical Simulation and Pediatri­cian at Hebrew University
  • 2006 Dr. Robert Byrick, Clinical Anesthesiologist at St. Michael’s Hospital, and Dr. Daniel Klass, Director and Associate Registrar, Quality Management at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario
  • 2005 Dr. David Naylor, President of the University of Toronto
  • 2004 Dr. Sheela Basrur, former Chief Medical Officer of Health and Assistant Deputy Minister of Public Health for Ontario
  • 2003 Dr. Diana Schatz, founder of The Michener Institute for Applied Health Science